top of page

MY FIRST HYPERLAPSE

Would you believe that in this 34second video below there are 1018 images compiled together?

My goodness, I would probably agree that this video looks like a completely failed attempt towards creating a hyperlapse. For me, it was a great breakthrough in making videos. I know the footage looks terrible but there where a couple of things that I did incorrectly, I'll come back to this point just now.

When I reached the end with capturing the last photograph my arms almost fell off. This whole 34second video took 52minutes to photograph. 52minutes to photograph 1018photos.

The process:

The process is quite easy, you need to set the camera on manual mode. Set the camera to the correct exposure with a quick shutter speed so that you don't end up with blurry images. Set the camera's viewfinder to a rule of thirds grid and use one of the corners to aim at a particular point of interest. Then with each picture, take one step forward.

This is where I totally fell off the wagon, you'll see some proper stable footage in that video and then all of the sudden horrible shaky footage, just because I did not aim constantly at a point of interest. At some point I only held the camera in front of me and just took a photo with each step, hoping that what I'm doing is correct.

Once you're done, you can go to your prefered video editing software and stitch all the photos together. Each photo should be the duration of one frame, considering that your video will be played at 24 - 30 frames per second. Before you export or edit the photos in any way, be sure to stabilize the footage in the video editing software.

You'll see in that video that the footage are very shaky but that's only because I didn't aim at a point of interest, even the best software stabilization won't save this bad footage.

I really enjoyed doing this, at least I can learn out of my horrible mistakes with this video. Never the less, next time ill improve on this.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page