top of page

Digital or Film?

Having a proper DSLR Camera is still one of my dreams, I think due to the fact that DSLR cameras can be quite an expensive hobby. The question formed to think about a cheaper yet professional alternative. In addition to this, I recently started out looking in to film photography.

After some extensive research, especially considering that I am really procrastinating now, my portfolio exam is only four days away and now I’m deep in search for an old film camera. Consequently, I think there are some things to consider when shooting in digital and film, just to mention a few objectives that I noticed in my research.

Film:

The Vintage Pentax 1970-80 SLR film Camera

I really appreciate the look and feel of film photography and even the proses of developing the film, since there are many ways to do film photography this can yet again form an expensive exercise. First of all, you can pick up a really well-built and professional film camera from second-hand websites for the fraction of what a new or second-hand Digital SLR camera can cost you. Developing the film can be somewhat expensive if one develop the films through a professional developing company. The films can be expensive but considering that is the fairly old technology you can buy expired films for an inexpensive price as well. The prosses of taking the photo can be a difficult yet interesting thing to do, you will need to determine exposure and shutter speed yourself while knowing that there are so many photos that you can take on one film roll.

Modern day Pentax DSLR camera

Digital:

This one is easy, we all know, with digital camera’s you have the luxury of taking the photo, have a preview and if you don’t like the photograph, you can just delete the photo from your memory card and try again. To develop the photo, Its simply plug and play exercise on your computer.

How about the photo quality?

According to the review’s and opinions that I’ve watched online, some of the photographers really prefer the look and feel of the old school film camera’s. In essence, you are able to scan the film with a film scanner or you can even use a normal printer scanner with some custom settings, with the correct scanner you’ll be able to produce an image from a film camera that’s the equivalent of a 25 megapixel camera.

In my opinion, I really like the photo quality and trueness of the old traditional film camera’s. I think getting back to basics can really teach you allot more about modern cameras and photography.

Below are some sample images:


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page