top of page

My First Camera

It has been a lifelong dream for me to own my own camera. Not knowing much about the world of photography, I started out with my savings account and hoped for the best. After intensive researched and hours of "YouTube tech reviews", I finally made my decision to go for the rather inexpensive version of photography cameras, a Bridge Camera.

The Canon sx540hs

Bridge cameras are cameras that fill the role between the single-lens reflex cameras (SLRs) and the point-and-shoot camera. They are often comparable in size and weight to the smallest digital SLRs (DSLR) and they are superzoom cameras with retractable lenses to make it more compact. Another Definition to Bridge Camera's is" bridged the gap" between point-and-shoot cameras and SLRs.

Like other cameras, most current bridge cameras are digital. These cameras typically feature full manual controls over shutter speed, aperture, ISO sensitivity, colour balance, and metering. Generally, their feature sets are similar to consumer DSLRs; except for a smaller range of ISO sensitivity because of their typically smaller image sensor, (a DSLR has a 35mm, APS, or Four-Thirds size CCD or CMOS sensor).

The main reason why I would like to highly recommend Bridge Cameras to anyone starting out with photography is; first of all the price, Bridge Cameras are considerably cheaper than DSLR cameras considering that you might end up buying additional lenses for a DSLR Camera. My current Camera that I use has a 50x zoom lens this is the equivalent of a 24-1200mm DSLR lens. These Lenses are very very expensive with a starting price of about R40 000 and more and you would probably need help carrying this lens.

This is a 24-1200mm DSLR lens.

One again just to confirm tht typical pruce range of zoom lenses, this is an advertizement that I got from a website:

Another reason why I would recommend a bridge camera is that it is small and compact, very light and easy to hide when it is expected from what ever circumstances you might find yourself in. It is definitely better than a smartphone camera and it will start you out in the wonderful world of photography.

Please go look at my Photography section on my website at:

https://juandevilliers1.wixsite.com/architectjuan

All the photos on my website have been shot with a Canon sx540hs.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page