top of page

Coega Development Corporation Headquarters

In my third year of studies, I completed my 6-month practical and worked for a local Architectural firm ‘Balshaw & Fogarty Architects’. A good part of my work description was to deliver document and drawings.

One day I had the privilege to deliver a tender document to the Coega Development Corporation Headquarters. Once again coming from a small town (Queenstown) Driving around and delivering important packages can be really overwhelming. Just the thought of being the new rookie in the office and delivering an important Tender document to the wrong place can be catastrophic. While delivering this document and finding my way to the Coega development I can definitely say that the Headquarters building stood as a beacon and the Google images of this building that my boss showed me before my delivery correlated with what I saw, I was glad to know that at least I was on the correct path.

The Coega Development Corporation Headquarters was designed by ‘Stauch Vorster & Bonnesse Architects JV’ completed in 2008.

The building consists of 5 storeys and makes a bold statement especially on approaching this building. The designers made well provision for canopies and shading devises above the glazed areas and its also noticeable that the building is South-West to East-West orientated to act as a buffer against the dominant Port Elizabeth wind loads.

One thing that mislead me to the entrance of the building was especially when looking at this particular image. the stairwell indicates a way of approaching the interior of the building. Don't be mislead by this, the main entrance of the building is located at the back.

The back of the building, the entrance of the building is located directly under the Coega signage.

All in all it was a good experience delivering a document to this building.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page